The Logic of English

Take 56 minutes to watch this from beginning to end. Don’t put it off untill tomorrow. Do it today. Denise Eide, the speaker, has done something marvellous. She has uncovered the logic of the English language.

For me, this represents the way forward with my daughter. It brings together the two often contrasted methods of phonic and whole word reading in a humanistic way that will help both my daughter and myself (I’m a bad spella). You can visit Denise’s blog here. You will note the textbooks and iPad apps. Expect more on those later. For now I will settle with buying the book.

I will leave you with one quotation from the video: “You can do as tutors, as parents, what brain surgeons cannot. You can re-wire the brain”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Logic of English”

  1. Denise Eide says :

    Thank you for spreading the word!

  2. teachthesprog says :

    Wow, the lady herself! Thanks for commenting and keep up the look work!

  3. Jenny says :

    Just before I head off to buy the book, a quick thank you for sharing this. I could almost hear the penny dropping in my head as I watched the video – I really liked the idea of moving away from rules + millions of exceptions. If I can get to grips with the explanations that Denise was talking about, I will be much more confident in guiding my daughter through the jungle of the English language. One particular slide caught my eye from a bilingual parenting point of view – the one about the assumption that children will learn to read by being read to. Sounds very similar to the assumption that a child will grow up bilingual just because the parents come from different language backgrounds – completely overlooking the dedication and hard work that has to go into it to make it work!
    Really enjoying your blog – keep on writing!

    • teachthesprog says :

      Jenny, thank you. Please excuse the slow reply. You hit the nail on the head. The assumption that one parent of a different language background equals bilingual is fairly prevalent isn’t it? I have decided to wait until my sprog is a little older to start on the rules Denise talks about. She is still 5, and until then I will continue with the myths that Denise debunks. They are useful and no doubt about it. When she can really read, then I start to educate both of us. Maybe I can improve my own terrible spelling?

Leave a Reply

