Questions for Kids

questions for kidsI made this on the fly today. It’s an offshoot of the reading from one of my MA modules and is based on a table I saw on the web. Although I’m sure there are areas that need a re-think, it was an interesting challenge. It highlighted for me the need to talk around a subject and ask more questions to further increase the range of language I use with my daughter.

Bloom’s Taxonomy was developed by a team led by Benjamin Bloom in the 1950’s and it attempted to define types of learning (domains) and the different levels of learning within those types. It has been through many revisions by many different people and in my favourite version it appears threaded through Gardner’s ‘Multiple Intelligence’ model. It’s a very interesting and relevant area for educators of all types.

As I say, I used the time available today to make a prototype table but will attempt a more concise and detailed review in the near future. You can download the pdf if you follow this link: questions for kids Let me know if you have any suggestions.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Questions for Kids”

  1. Chris Drew says :

    And I always thought Bloom’s taxonomy was something from “Ulysses”…I give this a go and let you know

  2. Stephen Greene says :

    I love this table. I teach English as a foreign language and a lot of talk and effort goes into incorporating Bllom’s taxonomy into the classroom. It is up to parents to develop their kids throug the different stages as, unfortunately, a lot of education systems focus too much on the basic category of knowledge as that is the easiest to test.

    In English language teaching this taxonomy is often presented as being linear, i.e. students need to show they have knowledge before they can exhibit understand and then they move on to application and so forth. Would you agee with this or do you think it is more non-linear?

  3. teachthesprog says :

    In the context of our kids I don’t really think its relevant. We use questions to get them thinking and talking, to challenge them, but because they already speak the language we don’t really need to consciously use the staged approach. Need to have a proper think about this and take note of the order in which I ask questions. May find that I automatically ask in a linear fashion.

Leave a Reply

