I Spy

What do you do in the bath? Recently, we have been mostly playing I spy. Things come and go. We sing songs or practice the alphabet, I tell stories or we just play with the rubber ducks. I spy became possible once my daughter became familiar with the formation of words. That happened when she learned to read.

Phonic I spy is great for young kids. “I spy with my little eye, something beginning with ‘tuh’ (t). Toe? Tap? Towel? Give me a hint. It’s around here. It’s white.” Initial consonants and consonant blends (br – brush, sh – shampoo) are the point here. It all follows on from the other activities I have written about.

It’s a vocabulary builder if they don’t know it, it’s not overwhelming for young learners (there are only so many things in a bathroom) and it gets the mind working in English. Simple? Yes. Sadly with my late nights and her early bedtime we don’t spend nearly the amount of time I want to doing little things like this, but little things like this that can be done easily and simply wherever we are is the point. One form of educational/linguistic input is not enough for the bilingual child, and we need to find ways of bringing the language to them in chunks that fit with the life we lead.

Any good ideas? Please let me know.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “I Spy”

  1. Jenny says :

    Reading through your blog, starting at the beginning! This is a great idea, we’re starting to use phonics now; prior to this we started off playing I Spy Colour – “…something that’s green”. You’re right about using any opportunity you can to get these things in. When we lived in France I used car journeys to play these “games” – anything to stimulate discussion and use new words…and pass the time!

    • teachthesprog says :

      I think reading is the most important skill we can give our kids. Reading is easier for those with a larger vocabulary so activities like this are gold. Also, the company that makes the game ‘Rhyme Robber’ I blogged about recently makes a lot of games aimed at younger children that are easy and fun to play and will help build a vocabulary base. They cost money however, and activities like this and the ‘three things’ activity I blogged a while back are free.

Leave a Reply

